Comfort Food Thursday: Boz Scaggs, Silk Degrees

Look at that cool dude. Credit: By Source, Fair use, https://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?curid=4202552

We’re all going through a lot of things right now. People have turned to crafts, exercise, and media to help them get through this emotionally taxing time. For some reason, in the past week, I’ve turned to listening to Boz Scaggs’ 1976 album, Silk Degrees. It’s a seminal album in his career, one that gave us such hits as “Lido Shuffle” and “What Can I Say.”

And I’ve been listening to it frequently in the past week, and have had multiple songs from the album stuck in my head. I haven’t listened to this album in years! It’s one of my parents’ favorites, and on summer trips we would listen to Boz Scaggs, Jimmy Buffett, and Jackson Browne non-stop. We would drive to the beach, going over the Chesapeake Bay Bridge with the windows down so we could get the first smell of brine and salt, along with whiffs of gasoline.

Silk Degrees is very much outside the kind of music I listen to. But I still know all the words. Still laugh at the cheesiness of the lyrics. And have enjoyed catching up with an old friend. It’s been like settling into a comfy couch, finding the impression where you used to sit, and dozing off for a pleasant nap.

– Daniel

What have you been doing to keep you sane during this time? Let us know!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started