New Music Friday: Mastodon – Medium Rarities

Mastodon is one of my favorite bands. I love every single on of their albums, from 2004’s bonecrushing Leviathan, a concept album based on Herman Melville’s Moby Dick, to 2017’s Emperor of Sand, a more mainstream concept album following a wanderer in the desert who has been handed a death sentence. Yeah man, they’re pretty fuckin’ awesome.

I saw them live in 2017 with a good friend, and they killed. They rocked so hard, and even had Eagles of Death Metal opening for them. A one-two punch of pure rock goodness. And Mastodon didn’t slow down the entire night. It was awesome.

I’m eagerly awaiting for them to release a new studio album, but their latest release, a collection of singles, one-offs, and live tracks will tie me over until then. As of writing this, I haven’t had a chance to listen to it (no press credentials yet!), but I’ve been looking forward to it since the first single, “Fallen Torches,” was released. I’m hoping we get news about a new album soon. For now, I’ll be listening to their back catalogue, and you should too.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started